Charter Commission 2020-2022


Agendas, packets, and minutes as well as remote access instructions can be found in the Agenda Center


At the July 14, 2020 Election, City of Portland voters approved creating a Charter Commission to open up review of the City Charter

On August 10, 2020, the City Council approved the appointment of three members to serve on the Charter Commission and established that nine additional members elected by Portland voters will serve on the Commission. On October 5, 2020, the Council set the election date for when voters will choose the remaining members. 

Voters elected the remaining nine members of the Commission using Ranked Choice Voting on June 8, 2021.

Public comment can be sent to 


Dory Waxman (appointed by Council)

Michael Kebede (appointed by Council) (Chair)

Peter Eglinton (appointed by Council) (Secretary)

Shay Stewart Bouley (District 1) (Vice-Chair)

Robert O'Brien (District 2)

Zack Barowitz (District 3)

Marcques Houston (District 4)

Ryan Lizanecz (District 5)

Catherine Buxton (At-Large)

Marpheen Chann (At-Large)

Nasreen Sheikh Yousef (At-Large)

Pat Washburn (At-Large)
  1. Portland Charter Commission plans public hearing July 28

    The Portland Charter Commission will hold an online public hearing July 28, 2021, at 6 p.m., to gather opinions and suggestions from city residents about their work. Read on...
View All
Committees Members Chair
Governance Sheikh-Yousef, Lizanecz, O'Brien, Stewart-Bouley O'Brien
Education Houston, Eglinton, Chann Houston
Elections Buxton, Chann, Washburn Buxton
Procedures Barowitz, Waxman, Kebede, Washburn Washburn
Departments Houston, Lizanecz, Barowitz Lizanecz



Departments Committee Resources

View folder here.